Sen. John McCain changed his tuneAfter a long Congressional battle, Martin Luther King. Jr. Day became a federal holiday on Nov. 2, 1983, when a reluctant President Ronald Reagan signed it into law, surrounded by the King family.

But a bunch of members of Congress voted against it.

And according to the Washington Post, six of them still serve in Congress.

One even ran for president.

Among the 90 nay votes in the House were two representatives, one a Democrat and the other a Republican, who would eventually become senators. Republican John McCain of Arizona was the 2008 GOP presidential nominee who later said he regretted voting against it. He was joined by then-Democrat Richard Shelby of Alabama, who became a Republican in 1994. They joined 22 other Republican dissenters, including Sens. Orrin Hatch of Utah and Chuck Grassley of Iowa.

Two members still serve in the House, both Republicans: House Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers of Kentucky and Jim Sensenbrenner of Wisconsin.