AIDS Services Dallas celebrated the 28th anniversary of its founding with a barbecue and by handing out awards to allies and residents in the Revlon Apartment courtyard. Awards were given in the names of ASD’s two founders — Michael Merdian and Daryl Moore — and early board member Phil Morrow.

Don Maison has headed the housing agency since 1989, making him the longest serving director of an AIDS agency in the U.S. and also making him old. Very old.


Michael Merdian Memorial Award  — Kenneth Smith was the winner. Nominees were Jonathan Thorne, Tony Fair, Helen Goldenburg, Ramon Ortega, Hollis Byrd, Isaac Henry and Willy Powell.

Phil Morrow Memorial Award Recipient — The Deason Foundation and Family.

Daryl Moore Memorial Award Recipient — M.A.C. AIDS Funds.

Special Recognition — United Court of the Lone Star Empire, Derrick Mask and Rick Farmer, David Nelson, The Women of St. Michael & All Angels Episcopal Church (St. Michaels), Jay Maggio.

Certificate of Appreciation

Anthony Brinkley
Michael Bursey
Tony Fair
Ramon Ortega
Kenneth Smith
Jonathan Thorne
Helen Goldenberg
Hollis Byrd
Mac Espinoza
Tyrone Fields
Willy Powell
Isaac Henry

Job Readiness Program Participants

Ronald Davis
Isaac Henry
Truman Husband
Mac Espinosa
Enrique Garma
Lester Threats
Michael Smith
Magaly Rodriguez
Takelech Gebray
Joycelyn Latcher
Bonnie Samuels
Pamela Shamfwesa
Juacena Green
Penjani Mkandawire
Tony Fair
Alex Shaw
Daniel McDaniel
Mark Edgell
Ramon Ortega