By Staff Reports

Three Dallasites have been elected to the board of the International Gay and Lesbian Travel Association, IGLTA officials announced this week.

Cordey Lash

George Carrancho, Cordey Lash and Veronica Torres were elected by the membership after they and other board nominees made presentations to IGLTA members during the organization’s 25th annual conference held recently in Las Vegas. Elections were held May 2.

IGLTA officials said in a written statement this week that the international organization’s new board reflects the organization’s "deep commitment to the professional and geographic diversity within the travel and tourism industries." But, officials said, this may be the first time the board has included three democratically elected Dallas residents.

Both Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert and Phillip Jones, president and CEO of the Dallas Convention and Visitors Bureau, issued written statements congratulating the three new board members from Dallas.

"The citizens of our city continue to show the world that Dallas is here and we mean business, as these three dynamic leaders bring international tourism awareness for our wonderful city," Leppert said. "I say to them congratulations and job well done."

Jones said, ""The fact that three Dallas-area partners are now on the board of the International Gay and Lesbian Travel Association is a direct result of the collaborative environment in the city."

Veronica Torres

Noting that Torres works for the Dallas CVB, Jones added, "Veronica Torres, as a representative of the bureau, works tirelessly to ensure that strategic alliances, such as the ones we have with American Airlines and Wyndham Hotel Group, continue to define Dallas a pioneer city in the gay and lesbian travel market."

Torres is the new secretary of the IGLTA board.

Carrancho, who works with the Rainbow Sales Team for American Airlines, and Lash, who works with the Wyndham Hotel Group, were elected to general seats on the board.

Bryan Herb of Zoom Vacations replaces Matt Skallerud of Pink Banana Media as board chair. Bruce McDonald of Travel Gay Canada was re-elected to the board and is vice chair. Theresa Belpusi of Destination D.C. was also re-elected to the board and will continue to serve as treasurer.

Those re-elected to general board seats were Thomas Bomkes of Tom on Tour in Munich, Yves Pelletier with Orbitz Canada in Montreal and Bob Poland of Don’t Go There Travel in Boston.

This article appeared in the Dallas Voice print edition May 23, 2008.
продвижение сайта одесса