Fort Worth organization names Mr. Leathermen of the Year, wins Condom Queen of the Parking Lot award


The Cowtown Leathermen kicked off their 32nd anniversary on Saturday, Sept. 12 with a celebration of safe sex, joining 19 other organizations for the first annual Jennings Street Jam in the parking lot of Fort Worth’s Club Reflection.

The group, believed to be one of the oldest in the country, kicked off festivities with the announcement of “Cowboy Jim” as Mr. Leatherman of the Year. It was the first time since 2009 that the Mr. Leatherman title has been bestowed on anyone.

But “Cowboy Jim” wasn’t the only leather man to receive an award that evening. The night’s other most coveted title, Condom Queen of the Parking Lot, went to the Leathermen’s Desiree.

And the next day, Sunday, Sept. 13, the Leathermen continued the festivities, handing out awards to outstanding members.

Robert Whittaker, who was not in attendance, received the Carl Thorpe Community Service Award for community involvement; Bill Caram received Associate of the Year honors, and Jesse Lanier was named Member of the Year.

— James Russell

This article appeared in the Dallas Voice print edition September 18, 2015.