Erik Wilson


Joe Tave

Saturday, June 13, is the runoff election that will decide the balance of power on the Dallas City Council. Runoffs will be held in four council districts — 3, 7, 8, and 10.

District 3: This race offers the clearest distinction between candidates. Joe Tave is endorsed by Dallas Gay and Lesbian Alliance. Casey Thomas is Vonciel Jones Hill’s handpicked successor. District 3 includes Kiestwood, the very gay neighborhood in Oak Cliff where Tave lives, and extends through all of the city’s far southwesternmost areas.

District 7: Tiffinni Young faces Kevin Felder vie to replace Councilwoman Carolyn Davis. Both sought Stonewall Democrats’ endorsement. Young received Dallas Gay and Lesbian Alliance’s endorsement. The district includes the Fair Park area.

District 8: In the race to replace Mayor Pro Tem Tennell Atkins, Dianne Gibson faces Erik Wilson. Wilson applied to Stonewall for its endorsement, but lost it on his support for the underwater toll road. He’s a supporter of LGBT issues and would work well with the LGBT community. The district is in far South Dallas.

District 10: Whoever wins this seat to replace Councilman Jerry Allen, who pushed through the resolution to equalize all rights and benefits for the LGBT community has big shoes to fill. Adam McGough sought Stonewall’s endorsement and got DGLA’s. The district is in northeast Dallas roughly from Walnut Hill Road to Walnut Street, and Central Expressway to Plano Road. LBJ cuts diagonally through the district.

On Election Day, you must vote in your precinct. Hours are 7 a.m.-7 p.m.