Wright_MAP__2_Oak Lawn residents can look forward to plenty of additional noise this fall when the Wright Amendment expires and airline service to both coasts resumes after 38 years.

On Monday morning, Southwest Airlines announced 15 new nonstop destinations it will add to its schedule from Dallas Love Field beginning in October.

The city of Dallas, which owns and operates Love Field, recently completed a renovation and expansion of the main terminal in anticipation of additional service.

The Wright Amendment restricted flights from Love Field to other Texas cities and the four contiguous states — Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. A few destinations beyond those states have been added over the last decade.

The law was passed, ostensibly, to protect DFW Airport, but its sponsor, Rep. Jim Wright of Fort Worth, wanted to make sure flights were accessible to his side of the Metroplex and didn’t favor Dallas. The Wright Amendment has been in effect since 1979, three years after DFW Airport opened.

Five new nonstop destinations will be added on Oct. 13:

Chicago — Midway
Las Vegas

Ten new nonstop destinations will be added on Nov. 2:

Ft. Lauderdale
Los Angeles — LAX
New York — LaGuardia
Orange County/Santa Ana
San Diego
Washington — National

Southwest is a corporate LGBT ally and received the Corporate Ally Award from the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force at Creating Change in Houston on Sunday.