By Staff Reports

Voting marked first contested election in group’s 12-year history; winning candidates thank group for support

Jesse Garcia

Jesse Garcia, a board member of the Stonewall Democrats of Dallas, was elected as president of that organization with an 85-to-31 vote victory over the incumbent president, Michael Moon, at Stonewall’s Nov. 21 meeting. It was the first time in the organization’s 12-year history that an election for an officer position was contested.

“I am very grateful to the membership for giving me the opportunity to take Stonewall to the next level,” said Garcia. “My immediate goals are to elect an LGBT-friendly Dallas City Council this spring, recruit and train more LGBT precinct chairs and election workers this summer, and start working on Democratic victories for 2008 in the fall.”

Also at that meeting, Erin Moore, former president of the Dallas Gay and Lesbian Alliance, was elected Stonewall vice president; Kirk McPike, who ran the North Dallas Coordinated Campaign Office for the Dallas County Democratic Party and who has been a board member of the Dallas County Young Democrats, was elected as secretary; and former Dallas County Democratic Party Chairman Bill Howell was elected as treasurer.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to serve with,” said Garcia. “Each one of these officers brings so many skills to the table.”

The meeting began with the introduction of nearly two dozen Democrats elected on Nov. 7.

The community is invited to meet the newly-elected Democratic officials and the new executive officers of Stonewall Democrats of Dallas at the club’s eighth annual holiday party on Dec. 12, from 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m., at Havana’s, 4006 Cedar Springs Road.

This article appeared in the Dallas Voice print edition, December 1, 2006. okneoоптимизация сайта в гугле