Outrageous Oral quarterly story-telling evening

Steve Atkinson plays master of ceremonies at The Dallas Way’s quarterly Outrageous Oral presentation at 7 p.m. on April 23 in the Rose Room, 3911 Cedar Springs Road.

Speakers this month are Sheriff Lupe Valdez, currently serving her third term in office; Mark Shekter, who created MOM — Meals on the Move — to serve 200 meals a day to people living with AIDS; former city councilman and mayoral candidate Ed Oakley, and Celebration on the Lake Pastor Kathy Bowser.

The Dallas Way will be recording Spontaneous Oral personal experience stories from 6-7 p.m. and 8:30-9:30 p.m. Admission is free.


Chorale presents Musica de Mayo

In honor of Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez, the Turtle Creek Chorale presents Musica de Mayo at 7 p.m. May 1 and 2 at the Latino Cultural Center, 2600 Live Oak St.

The Chorale’s Chamber Chorus and Mi Diva Loca perform music from Selena and other Latin pop artists. The evening presents “some really fun traditional songs as well as pop songs that will make you wanna get up and ‘Bidi Bidi Bom Bom’ your way to the dance floor,” said Mi Diva Loca’s Mel Arizpe.

Tickets for Musica de Mayo and for Britten, Beatles and Bond on April 24-26 at City Performance Hall are available at TurtleCreek.org or by phone at 214-526-3214.


DGLA endorses city council candidates

For the first time in its 38-year history, the DGLA-PAC was able to make endorsements in every city council district. Every incumbent seeking re-election sought the DGLA-PAC’s endorsement.

“With six open seats on the Dallas City Council, two contested incumbents, a number of unopposed candidates, and a contested mayor’s race, we expected a mix of responses from candidates, and they delivered,” said DGLA president Patti Fink.

The endorsements are:
District 1 – Scott Griggs
District 2 – Adam Medrano
District 3 – Wini Cannon
District 4 – Carolyn King Arnold
District 5 – Sherry Cordova
District 6 – Monica R. Alonzo
District 7 – Tiffinni A. Young
District 8 – Gail Terrell
District 9 – Mark Clayton
District 10 – Adam McGough
District 11 – Lee M. Kleinman
District 12 – Sandy Greyson
District 13 – Jennifer Staubach Gates
District 14 – Philip T. Kingston
District 15 (Mayor) – Marcos Ronquillo

This article appeared in the Dallas Voice print edition April 17, 2015.