Marriage_Equality_MapU.S. District Judge Joseph Bataillon struck down Nebraska’s marriage ban today (Monday, March 2).

Only 13 states still ban marriage equality and in only two have there now been no marriage rulings — Georgia and North Dakota. In Missouri, a partial ruling compels the state to recognize out-of-state marriages and couples may marry in St. Louis by court order. The county clerk in Kansas City also issues licenses. Missouri is not counted as one of the marriage equality states.

Seven couples challenged the Nebraska ban that has been in effect since 2000.

The same judge had previously struck down the ban, but after his 2005 ruling, the Eighth Circuit reinstated it.