2011 Pride Parade.

The buzz for this year’s 29th Annual Alan Ross Texas Freedom Parade is that the Dallas LGBT community gets to choose who the grand marshals will be. When the Dallas Tavern Guild put the word out for nominations, they came flowing in and so they guild has narrowed it to five male nominees and five female nominees. Now it’s in your hands. Literally. Click to vote who this year’s parade grand marshals will be by going here.

And the nominees are (in alphabetical order):

Robert L. Camina — Camina Entertainment – Director, Producer, Writer
Chris-James Cognetta —Youth First Texas
Rafael McDonnell — Resource Center Dallas; Dallas Bears
Jeffrey Payne — Leather Knights; NLA Dallas; Sharon St. Cyr Fund; Dallas Eagle
Dr. Gene Voskuhl — AIDS Arms, Inc.

Lorie L. Burch — Burch Law; American Business Women’s Association; GLBT Chamber
Rebecca Covell — Covell, PC; HRC; GLBT Chamber
Rev. Jo Hudson — Cathedral of Hope
Pauline Medrano — City of Dallas
Anton Shaw — Organization(s): Local Singer / Entertainer

Voting is open until July 27. The grand marshals will be announced on August 1.