The Press Club of Dallas, on which I used to serve as a board member, recently held elections for the upcoming board of directors. The new board is:

Cary J. Broussard, Broussard Global Communications, CEO, author (president); Cory J. Smith, NBC 5 reporter/anchor (president- elect); Tristan R. Hallman, Dallas Morning News reporter (treasurer); Kevin Farrell, Door, director of marketing (secretary); Hugh Aynesworth, investigative reporter, author; Ayona Anderson, principal and founder, EJP Marketing Co.; Lauren Reed Finegan, social and events manager, Le Meridien Dallas, the Stoneleigh; Scott Goldstein, chief of policy/communications for Dallas Mayor Michael S. Rawlings; Barry Hoffman, editor, Health Day News Service; Jo Ann Holt Caussey, freelance writer; Scott Keenan, southern bureau chief, CBS News; Frank Librio, chief marketing officer, Visit Dallas; Angela Madison, freelance digital editor; Martha Tiller, founder/CEO, Martha Tiller Public Relations.

The Press Club of Dallas Foundation Scholarship Fund also announced two college scholarships awarded to Dallas area students for the upcoming, academic year: A $5,000 scholarship was awarded to Pablo Arauz, a journalism major at The University of Texas at Arlington. Arauz is expected to graduate in the spring of 2018 with his B.A. and a certificate in Emerging Media Technology. A $1,500 scholarship was awarded to Corrie Coleman, a journalism major at Baylor University. A rising junior, Coleman has been on the dean’s list each semester of her college career.

In addition, the club recently solicited nominations for the Hugh Aynesworth Journalism Awards, named after the legendary journalist (the only man other than Oswald present at the assassination of JFK, the arrest of Oswald and the murder of Oswald by Jack Ruby) and former board chairman. They replace the former Katie Awards. The winners will be announced later this summer.

Congrats to everyone.