Stonewall Democrats President Jay Narey

The general membership of Stonewall Democrats of Dallas unanimously endorsed the slate of candidates recommended by the screening committee at the group’s membership meeting Tuesday night. The screening committee met on March 8 and heard from more than 20 of the 49 candidates who will be on the May 9 Dallas municipal ballot.

No candidates from District 4, currently held by Dwaine Caraway, sought endorsement. That district includes the heavily LGBT Oak Park Estates neighborhood.

Sandy Greyson and Jennifer Gates, who represent Districts 12 and 13, are running unopposed and did not seek endorsement. Gates’ district includes parts of Oak Lawn near Love Field.

Lee Kleinman did seek the endorsement but would not sign the required pledge to the Democratic Party.

“I do want to acknowledge [Councilman Lee Kleinman’s] support and assistance on the council,” Stonewall President Jay Narey said, calling Kleinman a “strong ally.”

Other candidates for Dallas City Council endorsed by Stonewall Democrats are:
District 1: Scott Griggs
District 2: Adam Medrano
District 3: Joe Tave
District 5: Sherry Cordova
District 6: Monica Alonzo
District 7: Hasani Burton
District 8: No Endorsement
District 9: Mark Clayton
District 10: James White
District 14: Philip Kingston
Mayor: Marcos Ronquillo

Incumbents Omar Narvaez and Larry Duncan were endorsed for Dallas County School board.