By Staff Reports

Outgoing president says event will celebrate successful political year; awards to be given to LGBT group’s outstanding members, allies

Stonewall Democrats of Dallas will celebrate political gains over the past year at its annual Stonewall Holiday Party on Monday, Dec. 8, at 7 p.m., at the Round-Up Saloon, 3912 Cedar Springs Road.

Holiday catering will be provided by LGBT-owned-and-operated Buli Café. The event is free and open to the public. Dress is holiday casual.

"We have a lot to be thankful for. America elected fair-minded individuals that will set the LGBT community back on course on our road to full equality," said Jesse Garcia, outgoing Stonewall president. "That night we will meet our new officeholders and probably see some folks interested in running for the 2009 Dallas City Council elections and 2010 state and federal elections."

Stonewall President-Elect Erin Moore will announce her new board of directors that evening as well.

Although the event is free, Stonewall will ask for donations for the Legacy Counseling Center, the beneficiary chosen for this year’s holiday event.
Suggested items for donation include: paper towels, toilet paper, Kleenex tissue, laundry detergent, antibacterial soap, cleaning supplies, large latex gloves, gift certificates for groceries, copy paper, postage stamps, light bulbs, canned tuna, canned chicken, Folgers Coffee, black pens, highlighters, twin comforters, twin sheet sets, adult non-pull-up diapers, black Sharpie markers, Office Depot gift cards, staples, large and small paper clips and large and small binder clips.
The evening will also include the presentation of Stonewall’s annual awards. The awards and those nominated this year are:

• The Harryette Ehrhardt Distinguished Democrat Award; nominees Gary Fitzsimmons, David Hardt, Ken Molberg and Hon. Lupe Valdez.
• The Christy Kinsler Stonewall Board Member of the Year Award; nominees Kaye Gooch, Jeff Falin, Kim Ma and Clinton Swingle.
• The Buck Massey Stonewall Member of the Year Award; nominees Ann Cohn, Phyllis Guest, Omar Narvaez and Kevin Skinner.
• The P.L. Moore Stonewall Philanthropist of the Year Award; nominees Carlos Banda, Domingo Garcia, Greg Gosh and Ron Turner.
• The Pink Pump Award; nominees Lynn Cherry; Jaime Cortes, Carl Ginsberg and Eric Moye.
• The Stonewall Ally Award; nominees Dallas County Young Democrats, Park Cities/Central Dallas Democrats; Rockwall County Democrats and Women of Distinction.

Also featured at the party will be the traditional Holiday Basket Auction, with proceeds going toward Stonewall’s get-out-the-vote efforts in the LGBT community. Baskets range from $25 to $250. Cash, check and credit cards are accepted.

This article appeared in the Dallas Voice print edition December 5, game onlineузнать пр сайта