1459226_582195881850723_763259524_nThe Tyler Area Gays will announce the winner of the TAG Award at their Fifth Annual Project TAG Awards Dinner  on Friday.

A press release from the organization lists 11 people who are nominated for the award: Jeanette Calhoun, director of East Texas Cares and Resource Center; Joey Gonzales, board member and Treasurer of Project TAG; Adrien Grimm, East Texas transgender activist; Don Lindman, Project TAG supporter; Brenda McWilliams, political and educational activist; Gene Schriener, Project TAG board member and secretary; Rosemary Slayton, community volunteer; Jolie Smith, Project TAG past chair; Lou Anne Smoot, Project TAG and PFLAG board member; Neil Wilson, Project TAG member; D. Karen Wilkerson, Project TAG board member and chair.

TAG is Tyler’s first LGBT community organization and organizes political and community events such as camping, dinners and flag football. According to their mission statement, “Project TAG promotes an environment where all may feel free to be themselves without fear of repression or repercussion and where all are encouraged to share their knowledge and support with others.”