Eric Alva (via Facebook)

A week before the Equality March in Washington, D.C., honorary chairs of the march have been named and a route for the march announced. Among the honorary chairs is one Texas man, Eric Alva, a retired marine who was the first American injured in the Iraq War. Alva, based in San Antonio, was a vocal advocate for allowing LGBT people to serve openly in the military.

A route for the march was finally announced. The march will begin near the White House and end on the national mall.

The march takes place on June 11. Dale Holdman, owner of OutLines on Cedar Springs road, is organizing local attendees. He said people from North Texas who are attending should meet at the Downtown Hilton Garden Inn so they can march together.

Honorary chairs:

• Eric Alva, San Antonio-based civil rights activist

• Sen. Toni Atkins, California state Senator

• Kylar Broadus, executive director of Trans People of Color Coalition

• Jason Collins, retired NBA player, NBA Global Ambassador

• The Hon. Tony Coelho, former congressman, principal author of the Americans with Disabilities Act

• Ruby Corado, founder, Casa Ruby

• Earl Fowlkes, president/CEO of Center for Black Equity, Inc.

• Ted Jackson, disability and LGBT Advocate and former director of Disability Community Engagement, DNC

• Andrea Jenkins, poet and activist

• Cleve Jones, creator of the AIDS Memorial Quilt

• A. Billy S. Jones-Hennin, founder of DC Coalition

• David Mixner, civil rights activist, author

• Jim Obergefell, marriage-equality lead plaintiff

• Rev. Troy Perry, founder of Metropolitan Community Church

• Sarah Ramirez, actress, singer and activist

• Nadine Smith, co-founder and CEO of Equality Florida

• Patrick Smith, International Mr. Leather 2015

• Dr. Imani Woody, founding director and CEO of Mary’s House for Older Adults